Patanjali Yoga Sutras (Part 4) — Satsang, Yoga & Meditation

Patanjali Yog Sutra

Patanjali Yoga Sutras (Part 4) — Satsang, Yoga & Meditation

0:00 / 0:00

June 5, 2022

The science and practice of Yoga has its roots dating back to thousands of years ago, where it was given spiritual importance. Hence, it was integrated not only in the Vedic and Upanishadic culture, but Buddhist and Jain practices as well.

The teachings of Yoga that had been handed down in an oral tradition over thousands of years from ancient times, are said to have been synthesized and compiled by Maharishi Patanjali in the form of ‘Yog Sutra’— one of the foundational texts of classical Yogic Philosophy. The Patanjali Yog Sutras explain about the अष्टांग योग (Ashtanga Yog) illustrating the 8 Elements for a Holistic Life, i.e. Yama, Niyam, Aasana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharaana, Dhyana, Samadhi. The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali consist of 196 Sanskrit Sutras organized in 4 Adhyaya (chapters) — समाधिपाद (Samadhipadah), साधनापाद (Saadhanpadah), विभूतिपाद (Vibhutipadah) and कैवल्यपाद (Kaivalyapadah). He defines Yoga as that which restrains the mind-stuff (Chitta) from taking various forms (Vrutti).

Recommended videos